Junior Pulayya, Attorney at Law

Junior Pulayya, Attorney at Law

I was named after my paternal grandfather whom I never met. For a long period of time I despised my name because it was not a common “American name.”  However, as time has passed I have realized that my name is not just a name, but it is a representation of my culture and who I am today. I am first generation Guyanese-American, who was born in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. I lived most of my childhood in Queens until my parents decided to move to Florida my freshman year of high school in attempt to provide me with a better education. At that point I had contempt and disdain for my parents because I did not want to leave New York, but little did I know as I matured I would discover it was the best decision my parents could have made for my two younger brothers and I.

I attended Cypress Creek High School in Orlando, Florida, as did my two younger brothers. During high school, I ran cross-country and track and to this day I believe it was one of the best decisions I made throughout my high school career. Running gave me a sense of determination and accomplishment, but more importantly it taught me to never give up and that hard work brings success. It is largely because of my experience with running cross country and track that I am where I am today.

Four years after graduating from Cypress Creek High School, I graduated from the University of Florida with an undergraduate degree in History. One year after that I earned a Masters in Secondary Social Studies Education, also from the University of Florida. During my time at the University of Florida, my lessons on being part of a team that once began with my cross country and track coach, Coach Romer, continued to grow, and I began to understand that I could make a difference and represent something much bigger than just myself.

While teaching I decided to attend law school part time at Florida A&M College of Law in Orlando, Florida. I loved teaching middle school and high school students and my colleagues, students, and I shared a mutual respect for one another. I had the pleasure of teaching in Miami- Dade, Orlando, and Lake City, Florida. Although I love being a teacher, my determination allowed me to continue to find other paths of helping people and this is why I worked hard toward reaching my goal of becoming an attorney.  After working and going to school part time, I was able to graduate and pass the Florida Bar. I now carry with my name Attorney at Law, but I am so much more.

I am an American, a son, a brother, a husband, a first generation college graduate, a Florida Gator, a teacher, an attorney, and a mentor. I now realize that my name, Juna M. Pulayya, is a representation of my individuality, my culture, and my family; it is a representation of much more than letters, it is part of what makes me who I am today.

Megan Wieland Pulayya

Megan Wieland Pulayya, Attorney at Law

Determined. Dedicated. Focused. As an attorney, and as a person, I am defined by these characteristics. Born in Iowa to two teachers, I relocated to Florida with my mother when I was six years old, two years after my father passed away. The daughter of a single mother, I was also an older sister, who strived to be the second set of hands my mother needed. I was determined to be the best I could be in everything I did, was dedicated to succeeding in school, and was focused on my path to a successful future.

My determination, dedication, and focus followed me when I attended Flagler College in St. Augustine, Florida, where I graduated with a double major in Elementary/Deaf Education in 2004. One year after this I graduated from the University of Florida with my Masters Degree in Education and proceeded to teach Deaf and Hard of Hearing students for the following three years. I will always be a teacher at heart, but something was missing. In 2008, my inner drive to do more to help others took over and I began my path to a law degree. In 2011, I graduated with my law degree from the University of Florida and passed the Florida bar that same year.

I began my career as a lawyer for Florida's Guardian ad Litem Program advocating for the best interests of children who had been abused, abandoned, or neglected. However, again my determination, dedication and focus took over and I decided to expand my law career and took and passed the Kentucky bar. I am now a licensed lawyer in the State of Florida and the State of Kentucky. After more than five years with the Guardian ad Litem Program, I joined JMP Law, P.A.

Although I now have the words “Attorney at Law” behind my name in two states, I am so much more than this. I am a daughter, a sister, and a wife. I am a dedicated, determined, and focused individual that wants to use these characteristics to help others in need of advocacy.